40 Days of…Lint?

Not being Catholic, I can honestly say I don’t know much about Lent.  The season, the celebration, the traditions, etc…  To me lint is the stuff the sticks to your clothes or gathers in the dryer.

I didn’t even realize today was the beginning of the Lenten season until I read about it on several blogs accross the blogosphere.  Still don’t know much about it, but I came accross several post that I thought were interesting today that got me thinking about the way I will approach this lenten season.

1.  On the way to the cross

Talks about struggling with Jesus.  Interesting idea that’s easy to believe, Mary & Peter struggling with the idea of the suffering servant/crucified messiah.

Question:  Are we too hard on ourselves as Christians 2000+ years after the cross?  Do we think that we should have everything figured out?  Do we think that we shouldn’t struggle with Jesus?  I took comfort in the fact that Mary and Peter struggled with Jesus and I admit, I do too.

2.  Ashes to Ashes…

Good perspective on the start of Lent from a Catholic.   Made me want to get serious about the lenten season.  Challenge to repent, commit to change, commit to following Christ.

“Remember man that you are dust and into dust you shall return.”

3.  “40 Days”

Interesting post.  Traditionally lent has been thought of 4o days between Ash Wednesday and Holy Saturday (Resurrection Day).  This post goes through the 11 times 40 days was mentioned in the Bible.  There’s a tendancy to try and force interpetations or ideas out of individual text and you can try that if you’d like, but there were some good ideas that popped into my mind relating to these scriptures and Lent.  The instances made me think of judgement, preparation, separation, testing,  repentance, anticipation.  All good ideas as we follow Jesus on his way to the cross (and empty tomb).

This question is primarily for non-catholics, but if any Catholics stumble accross this post I’d love to here your thoughs as well.

How do you celebrate (if that’s even the right term to use) the lenten season?

7 comments so far

  1. amyclozen on

    i was so surprised that lent came upon us so quickly – i was catholic so always gave up something every year, usually something that was bad for me anyways so in a way it was more selfish than sacrifice. since things became more real to me i have tried to give something up and also do something – i have traditionally visited a lutheran church in ann arbor every wednesday night during lent for their service, and also popped by christ the king a few times – but this year with jack it is a little harder to get there. i also have enjoyed (that may not be the correct word) fasting during lent – especially the maundy thursday through easter vigil time – it was always extremely difficult but i really got something out of it – i practiced by fasting each week for a day – i can’t do that EITHER this year because of nursing jack so because lent came upon me so quickly this year i have no idea what to do – i need to pray about it but it definitely needs to involve more intentional connection time with god and more thoughts about repentance and transformation and change….

  2. Rachel on

    Hi Rich,
    I came across your blog somehow! Can’t remember how I got here! Anyways, today I was talking to a girlfriend of mine and she asked me the same thing. The conversation started because we both are on staff at our church, which is non denominational. Anyways, we are fasting and praying for revival at our Easter production. Last year we had 700 people make commitments to Christ!
    We started talking about fasting when she brought up Lent. My understanding is that Catholics and other religions give something up for the 40 days so they can identify with Christ’s sufferings. As if giving up chocolate or coffee or whatever could even begin to identify with what Jesus did for us! I may be wrong, I don’t know. I think the most important thing is that the grave is empty! Woohoo!

  3. Rich on

    Right on. I’m looking forward to Resurrection Sunday.

    Hope your Easter production goes well.

  4. LASHAWN FARMER on

    What day does lent start this year? Does it end good friday or resurrection sunday?

  5. Mandy Gladden on

    How in the world can you cheat on lint?
    I dont think you can, but me and my friend Jordan would like to know if you can…not that we would,
    we are just interested in knowing if you can [:

    Thanks,
    Mandy

    Ps. Please reply ASAP

  6. Rich on

    Mandy – I’m not sure how to cheat at lent. Besides who would you be cheating anyway God or yourself? If you (or some theoretical person) don’t want to participate in Lent don’t do it. I think God would appreciate your honesty more then your attempt to cheat. Now if your being forced to participate by some parent, church or school then it’s a different story. If you figure something out let me know.

  7. MANNY T on

    I ALSO WAS INTRESTED IN FINDING OUT THE RULE ABOUT SUNDAYS..
    SO AFTER READING MANY BLOGS I CAME TO UNDERSTAND THAT SUNDAYS ARE NOT PART OF LENT. THEREFORE U CAN HAVE WHAT U GAVE UP FOR LENT ON SUNDAY, BUT DO IT IN SUCH A WAY AS TO GIVE THANKS AND EVEN MORE PRAISE THAT U CAN HAVE AND ENJOY THE LITTLE THINGS IN LIFE WHICH MAKES US SO HAPPY WHICH WE TAKE FOR GRANTED.. SO GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE.. REPENT FOCUS AND LETS ALL BECOME THE PERSON GOD WANTS US TO BE..


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

